Haryana Government to revise affordable housing policy


In a bid to provide cheaper houses to the people of small urban areas of Haryana, the Khattar Government has decided to revise its affordable housing policy scheme, to provide housing for all in the state by 2022.


A meeting took place a few days earlier, between Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and other ministers to take a final call on this matter. After the meeting, an official press release was released by the housing ministry in which it has been said that the CM has approved the changes in the policy to provide cheaper houses to the people living in the old city boundaries of the state.


Further information was given by Haryana Housing Minister Kavita Jain in which she said, “Although there was already a plan for setting up of sectors in urban areas by the Town and Country Planning Department, yet, there was no such plan for the old cities in urban areas. The 2013 policy was applicable only for residential sectors of urban areas. Therefore, the Urban Local Bodies Department was directed to formulate a new policy.”


“Under the policy, the Urban Local Bodies Department would give approval to housing projects in old habitats of urban areas, from half acre to two-and-a-half acres and from two-and-a-half to five acres, on the basis of 250 and 275 floor area ratio, respectively. In this policy, the beneficiaries of the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban) would be provided with houses of 30 meters category, on priority basis,” Jain said.


Currently, the urban areas of the state had been divided into four zones- Hyper-Potential, High potential, medium potential and low potential. While Gurugram comes under Hyper Potential zone, Faridabad, Sonepat, Panipat, Panchkula and the Municipal Committee of Sohna have been included under High- Potential zone. The municipal committees of Karnal, Hisar, Yamunanagar, Rohtak, Bahadurgarh, Bawal, Rewari, Palwal and Municipality Hodal, Dharuhera and Gannaur are under the Medium- Potential Zone and other 13 Municipal Committees and 49 municipality areas have been included in Low-Potential Zone.